Tio Carlos

October 13, 2010

My beloved godfather, Carl Fritz, died last night.  My heart is filled, overflowing its banks.  Carl was my late father’s best friend, my little brother’s mentor, and for me a lifelong well of profound wisdom and unconditional love.  His death represents the closing of a chapter, the growing of my soul, the liberation of his.  Godspeed, Tio Carlos.

Tomorrow I head for India, to visit my Guru’s ashram for the first time, in the foothills of the Himalayas.  It will be Durga Puja, the festival that honors the Divine Mother, and also the 9th anniversary of Jenny’s death.  Last night Ram Dass blessed me and blessed me again over the phone:  Mother India, he sighed, Let her carry you.  Yum yum yum, he crooned, Oh boy oh boy oh boy.  This will be a big journey, he told me, but you have taken big journeys before.

I carry the spirits of my child and my godfather with me.

2 Responses to “Tio Carlos”

  1. May what you witness heal us all. Thank you for your openness and great giving heart.

Leave a Reply

