Down Time

February 18, 2010

Dear Friends,

I am off to Mexico and California for a month, and may not post during that time.  I am recovering from a winter of deep sorrow.  Not my own, though it is true that I feel the pain of everyone I sit with in every fiber of my being.  That’s where this alchemy happens.

In the past month or so, I have sat with: a young mother whose small daughter had a seizure and then died in her arms in the hospital three hours later; a middle-aged woman who met a man she loved, went into business with him, and then he was diagnosed with cancer and died within a few short weeks; a brilliant student whose brilliant boyfriend killed himself; the mother of a teenage girl whose first experiment with heroin catapulted her away from this world forever, leaving her lifeless body behind; a man my age whose father’s death has been the unexpected occasion for epiphany and quiet wonderment; and finally, the entire family of a beautiful young woman who was murdered at her sister’s wedding reception in the Caribbean, leaving the most extraordinary wake of pain and grace, beauty and suffering, awakening and shattering I have ever witnessed.

And so off I go to breathe and hike and write and read and love and renew.

My love to you all,

Mirabai

2 Responses to “Down Time”

  1. Adding my prayers for deep rejuvenation during this time away. Blessing on you and your work of healing service to others in the world.

  2. robert driscoll said

    I have only recently discovered this site, (though I was rocked by your translation of St John’s “Dark Night of the Soul,” back in 2002.
    Thanks, again.

Leave a Reply

